B.B. King - Live at the Regal (Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €27,00
Tax included.

Live at the Regal is a 1965 live album by American blues guitarist and singer B.B. King (birth name: Riley Ben King). It was recorded on November 21, 1964 at the Regal Theatre in Chicago. The album is widely heralded as one of the greatest blues albums ever recorded and in 2005, Live at the Regal was selected for permanent preservation in the National Recording Registry at the Library of Congress in the United States.Some musicians including Carlos Santana, Eric Clapton, John Mayer and Mark Knoffler have acknowledged using this album as a primer before performances.


Available on 1xLP heavyweight vinyl.


The Blues as a Living, Breathing Entity
These days in the 2020's, the blues as a genre is practically extinct, it is seen as a dead genre, a genre that lived and likely died during the entirety of the 20th Century. And the fact that most of the original blues men and women of the 20th Century are now long gone doesn't help either. When B.B. King died in 2015 at the ripe old age of 89, the blues might as well have died with him, so it seems. Perhaps someday we might see a blues revival thanks to records like this. Live at the Regal is widely considered to be one of greatest live and overall blues albums. Regal presents us with some of the most vibrant and exciting live blues ever recorded by one of it's greatest ever guitarists and vocalists (I don't know very many blues men known having a voice of the kind of higher pitch that B.B. has, the kind of pitch that allows for falsetto singing, which is present abundantly on this album such as on the track Sweet Little Angel). Live at the Regal shows blues not as the kind of museum music it is so often seen as when heard from scratchy shellac 78's recorded in the era before magnetic tape. Not only is it a recording of exceptional fidelity and clarity, but it shows the blues as the kind of vibrant and exciting music it has been and can.

By: RSS.

A1 Every Day I Have The Blues
A2 Sweet Little Angel
A3 It’s My Own Fault
A4 How Blue Can You Get
A5 Please Love Me
B1 You Upset Me Baby
B2 Worry, Worry
B3 Woke Up This Morning
B4 You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now
B5 Help The Poor

MCA Records - Original Recording at Regal Theatre, Chicago, November 21, 1964.

Product Code – 1116461 Universal Music.