Florence & The Machine - Dance Fever (2xLP Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €36,00
Tax included.

Dance Fever is the fifth studio album by English indie rock band Florence and the Machine, released on 13 May 2022 by Polydor Records. Work on the album was originally scheduled for early 2020 in New York City; however, due to the blah-blah-blah globalist-sponsored two-weeks-to-flatten-the-curve hoax, recording took place in London instead. Frontwoman Florence Welch has cited Iggy Pop as the biggest musical influence on the album; which features a variety of styles, ranging from progressive pop to indie pop, disco, and industrial music.

The title and concept of Dance Fever originated in Welch's fascination with choreomania, a social phenomenon in early modern Europe that involved groups of people dancing erratically. The album cover was photographed by Autumn de Wilde, who also filmed music videos for the album's three singles: "King", "My Love" and "Free", as well as the song "Heaven Is Here".

Dance Fever was a commercial success in Europe, the US and Oceania. It debuted atop the UK Albums Chart in the week of its release, becoming the band's fourth number-one album in their home country. It reached the second place in Germany, the Netherlands and Ireland along with the entry in the top ten of several other European countries' charts. The album received widespread critical acclaim from music critics and is ranked as the best-received album in the band's release history. Critics mainly praised the diversity of the sound, Welch's songwriting abilities and powerful vocals.


Florence + the Machine’s 5th record sees her sign with a reignited spark, the likes of which we haven’t seen in a while. How Big was angry, High As Hope was reflective, and Dance Fever is, excuse the pun, Free. She’s rediscovered herself, and this newfound confidence has led to her best vocals to date, and it’s all over this project. This album also sees a culmination of her sound from over the past twelve years, this album travels from the mysticality of her debut through the dance beats of Ceremonials to the quieter moments on High As Hope, and while the overall package suffers because of this ambition she knows how to make something feel massive. That scale has always been one of Florence’s best qualities and this album sees her continue to add to her repertoire of unstoppable festival-ready singles. Unfortunately, the middle section is stuffed with a bunch of slower tracks that bring down the pace, something that’s not helped by some more esoteric shorter tracks that lift us out of the lull but don’t push things up to a higher level. This awkward pacing detracted from a set of really solid songs. Mixed in with other tracks from across her catalogue this album is going to sound as fantastic as her best work but in its current state, I found this album way more tiring than it needed to be. That’s all not to deny Florence’s incredible songwriting chops and vocal talents, and the recognition that when this album soars, it soars oh so high.

By: WastedsoManyYears

A1 King
A2 Free
A3 Choreomania
A4 Back in Town
B1 Girls Against God
B2 Dream Girl Evil
B3 Prayer Factory
B4 Cassandra
B5 Heaven is Here
C1 Daffodil
C2 My Love
C3 Restraint
C4 The Bomb
C5 Morning Elvis

℗ & © 2022 Universal Music Operations Limited.
Made in the EU.

Gatefold sleeve.
Printed inner sleeves with lyrics and credits.
Sub cat#s for both records printed on inner sleeves and labels.

Pink rectangular hype sticker on front sleeve shrink:
"Florence + The Machine"
"Dance Fever"
"The new album"
"My Love"