Foo Fighters - Medicine At Midnight (Limited Edition Blue Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price €32,00
Tax included.

Medicine at Midnight is the new album from Foo Fighters, and packs nine new songs into a tight-ass 37 minutes. This collection includes the smoldering new single, "Shame Shame." Medicine at Midnight is produced by Greg Kurstin and Foo Fighters, and is the band's 10th album. Foo Fighters are Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett, Pat Smear, and Rami Jaffee.

2021 limted edition 9-track LP pressed on Blue Vinyl - in the UK and Ireland this colour variant is exclusive to Independent Record Stores. This is known as the independent 'Bricks & Morter' version. 

A fantastic return to form for the Foo Fighters and much needed medicine for these lousy covid times.

Their last album Concrete and Gold was a great big breeze block of hard rock sameyness that did not glitter in anyway. This one retains some of the rawk but amps up the indie-pop factor to a point where everything feels tight and snappy, and almost all the songs feel like they can stand out on their own. Making A Fire gets a good kindling going thanks to some catchy background vocal hooks and the snarling Shame Shame simmers and stews but it’s all else that follows where the record properly ignites. Cloudspotter is a catchy, crunching cumulonimbus of a song whereas centrepiece ballad Waiting For A War evokes old classics such as Times Like These and Best Of You before hurtling towards a fast and frantic, hyper-fuelled conclusion.

At this point the album nestles into a permanent purple patch where the songs remain consistently strong. The title track switches between shifty, spylike verses and a supreme, soulful, surefooted chorus. The blistery, bluesful No Son Of Mine is perhaps the heaviest track here whereas the almost-as-heavy Holding Poison brings in a light dash of synthy new wave. The contrastedly chilled Chasing Birds is a definite highlight with its relaxed 70s vibe ala John Lennon #9 Dream which therefore leaves Love Dies Young to act as a stirring, near-anthemic closer. Medicine At Midnight is a fresh sound for the Foos, oodles of fun and immensely replayable. Just what the doctor ordered.

By: rupert_X

A1 Making A Fire
A2 Shame Shame
A3 Cloudspotter
A4 Waiting On A War
A5 Medicine At Midnight
B1 No Son Of Mine
B2 Holding Poison
B3 Chasing Birds
B4 Love Dies Young

Hype sticker:
Round yellow
Black text
Limited Edition
Blue vinyl
exclusive to independent record stores
Limited number of pre-order copies supplied with Medicine at Midnight set of beer mats
Made In Europe

Comes with printed inner sleeve plus lyrics sheet with credits.